University Points of Contact

If you need someone to sign your membership application, or to provide other information, your first port of call should be your local RAS Point of Contact (PoC) should you have one. Please check the map below.

Dr John Reid

Aberdeen
University of Aberdeen
School of Physics
Meston Building
Aberdeen
AB24 3UE
01224 272518
j.s.reid@abdn.ac.uk

Dr Balazs Pinter

Aberystwyth
Aberystwyth University
Institute of Mathematics and Physics
Penglais Campus
Aberystwyth
SY23 3BZ
01970 622839
b.pinter@aber.ac.uk

Prof Mark Bailey

Armagh Observatory
Armagh Observatory
College Hill
Armagh
BT61 9DG
02837 522928
meb@arm.ac.uk

Prof Yvonne Elsworth

Birmingham
Univeristy of Birmingham
School of Physics and Astronomy
Edgbaston
West Midlands
Birmingham
B15 2TT
01214 144597
y.p.elsworth@bham.ac.uk

Dr Graham Smith

Birmingham
University of Birmingham
School of Physics & Astronomy
Edgbaston
West Midlands
Birmingham
B15 2TT
01214 144600
gps@star.sr.bham.ac.uk

Prof Alberto Vecchio

Birmingham
University of Birmingham
School of Physics & Astronomy
Edgbaston
West Midlands
Birmingham
B15 2TT
01214 146447
av@star.sr.bham.ac.uk

Dr Richard Horne

British Antarctic Survey
British Antarctic Survey
High Cross
Madingley Road
Cambs
Cambridge
CB3 0ET
01223 251542
r.horne@bas.ac.uk

Dr Gemma Richardson

British Geological Survey
British Geological Survey
The Lyell Centre
Research Avenue South
Riccarton
EH14 4AP
gemk@bgs.ac.uk

Prof Malcolm Longair

Cambridge
Cavendish Laboratory
Madingley Road
Cambridge
CB3 0HE
01223 337429
msl@mrao.cam.ac.uk

Dr Helen Mason

Cambridge
Cambridge University
DAMTP
Wilberforce Road
Cambs
Cambridge
CB3 0WA
h.e.Mason@damtp.cam.ac.uk

Dr Paul Roche

Cardiff
Cardiff University
School of Physics & Astronomy
5 The Parade
Cardiff
CF24 3AA
02920 687197
paul.roche@astro.cf.ac.uk

Dr Roger Clowes

Central Lancashire
University of Central Lancashire
School of Computing, Engineering & Physical Sciences
Jeremiah Horrocks Institute
Preston
PR1 2HE
01772 893526
rgclowes@uclan.ac.uk

Dr John Lucey

Durham
University of Durham
Department of Physics
South Road
Durham
DH1 3LE
john.lucey@durham.ac.uk

Prof John Peacock

Edinburgh
University of Edinburgh
Institute for Astronomy
Royal Observatory
Edinburgh
EH9 3HJ
0131 668 8100
jap@roe.ac.uk

Dr Claire Foullon

Exeter
University of Exeter
EMPS/CGAFD
North Park Road
Devon
Exeter
EX4 4QF
01392 725653
c.foullon@exeter.ac.uk

Prof Timothy Naylor

Exeter
University of Exeter
School of Physics
Stocker Road
Devon
Exeter
EX4 4QF
01392 724172
T.Naylor@exeter.ac.uk

Prof Graham Woan

Glasgow
University of Glasgow
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Kelvin Building
Glasgow
G12 8QQ
0141 330 5897
graham.woan@glasgow.ac.uk

Prof Martin Hardcastle

Hertfordshire
University of Hertfordshire
Centre for Astrophysics Research
Astronomy and Mathematics University of Hertfordshire
College Lane
Hertfordshire
Hatfield
AL10 9AB
01707 286409
m.j.hardcastle@herts.ac.uk

Dr David Clements

Imperial College
Imperial College
Astrophysics Group
Blackett Laboratory
Prince Consort Road
London
South Kensington
SW7 2BW
0207 594 7530
d.clements@imperial.ac.uk

Dr Andrew Jaffe

Imperial College
Imperial College London
Blackett Laboratory
Prince Consort Road
London
South Kensington
SW7 2AZ
a.jaffe@imperial.ac.uk

Dr Timothy Horbury

Imperial College
Imperial College
ICSTM
Blackett Laboratory
Prince Consort Road
London
South Kensington
SW7 2BW
t.horbury@ic.ac.uk

Dr Coel Hellier

Keele
Keele University
Astrophysics Group
Staffordshire
Keele
ST5 5BG
01782 734243
c.hellier@keele.ac.uk

Dr Ian Stimpson

Keele
Keele University
Geography, Geology and Environment
William Smith Building
Staffordshire
Keele
ST5 5BG
01782 733182
i.g.stimpson@keele.ac.uk

Prof Michael Smith

Kent
University of Kent
Centre for Astrophysics and Planetary Sciences
School of Physical Sciences
Kent
Canterbury
CT2 7NR
01227 827654
m.d.smith@kent.ac.uk

Dr Sarah Badman

Lancaster
Lancaster University
Department of Physics
Faraday Buildings, Bailrigg
Lancs
Lancaster
LA1 4YB
s.badman@lancaster.ac.uk

Dr Susan Bowler

Leeds
University of Leeds
School of Earth and Environment
Woodhouse Lane
West Yorkshire
Leeds
s.bowler@leeds.ac.uk

Dr Jonathan Mound

Leeds
Dr Jonathan Mound
School of Earth and Environment
Woodhouse Lane
West Yorkshire
Leeds
LS2 9JT
j.e.mound@leeds.ac.uk

Prof Aftab Khan

Leicester
University of Leicester
Department of Geology
University Road
Leics
Leicester
LE1 7RH
01162 523938 
mak@le.ac.uk

Prof Stephen Milan

Leicester
University of Leicester
Department of Physics & Astronomy
University Road
Leics
Leicester
LE1 7RH
ets@le.ac.uk

Prof Paul O'Brien

Leicester
University of Leicester
Department of Physics & Astronomy
University Road
Leics
Leicester
LE1 7RH
0116 252 5203
paul.obrien@leicester.ac.uk

Dr Richard Holme

Liverpool
University of Liverpool
Department of Earth Sciences
Jane Herdman Laboratories
4 Brownlow Street,
Liverpool
L69 3GP
R.T.Holme@liverpool.ac.uk

Dr Stacey Habergham

Liverpool John Moores
Liverpool John Moores University
Astrophysics Research Institute
IC2 Liverpool Science Park
146 Brownlow Hill
Liverpool
L3 5RF
s.m.habergham@ljmu.ac.uk

Prof Ian Crawford

London - Birkbeck College
Birkbeck College
Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences
London
WC1E 7HX
0207 679 3431
i.crawford@ucl.ac.uk

Dr Karim Malik

London - Queen Mary
Queen Mary, University of London
School of Physics and Astronomy
327 Mile End Road
London
E1 4NS
k.malik@qmul.ac.uk

Dr David Waltham

London - Royal Holloway
Royal Holloway, University of London
Dept of Earth Sciences
Egham Hill
Surrey
Egham
TW20 0EX
01784 443617
d.waltham@rhul.ac.uk

Prof Ian Howarth

London - UCL
University College London
Dept. of Physics & Astronomy
Gower Street
London
WC1E 6BT
0207 679 3491
idh@star.ucl.ac.uk

Dr Ernest Jones

London - UCL
University College London
Department of Earth Sciences
Gower Street
London
WC1E 6BT
020 7679 2381
ejw.jones@ucl.ac.uk

Dr Silvia Zane

London - UCL
University College London
Mullard Space Science Laboratory§
Holmbury St. Mary
Surrey
Dorking
RH5 6NT
s.zane@ucl.ac.uk

Dr Sara Russell

Natural History Museum
Natural History Museum
Department Mineralogy
Cromwell Road
London
South Kensington
SW7 5BD
sarr@nhm.ac.uk

Dr Andrew Fletcher

Newcastle
Newcastle University
School of Mathematics & Statistics
Herschel Building
Tyne and Wear
Newcastle Upon Tyne
NE1 7RU
andrew.fletcher@newcastle.ac.uk

Prof Peter Clarke

Newcastle
Newcastle University
School of Civil Engineering and Geosciences
Cassie Building
Tyne and Wear
Newcastle Upon Tyne
NE1 7RU
01912 226351
Peter.Clarke@newcastle.ac.uk

Dr Stephane Regnier

Northumbria
Northumbria University
Dept. of Mathematics & Information Sciences
Pandon Building
Tyne and Wear
Newcastle Upon Tyne
NE1 8ST
stephane.regnier@northumbria.ac.uk

Prof Alfonso Aragon-Salamanca

Nottingham
University of Nottingham
School of Physics & Astronomy
University Park
Notts
Nottingham
NG7 2RD
alfonso.aragon@nottingham.ac.uk

Prof Andrew Norton

Open university
The Open University
School of Physical Sciences
Walton Hall
Buckinghamshire
Milton Keynes
MK7 6AA
01908 654121
Andrew.norton@open.ac.uk

Prof Jocelyn Bell Burnell

Oxford
University of Oxford
Astrophysics, Denys Wilkinson Building
Denys Wilkinson Building
Keble Road
Oxon
Oxford
OX1 3RH
01865 273306/273303 
jocelyn@astro.ox.ac.uk

Prof James Binney

Oxford
University of Oxford
Theoretical Physics
2 Keble Road
Oxon
Oxford
OX1 3NP
binney@thphys.ox.ac.uk

Prof Patrick Irwin

Oxford
University of Oxford
Atmospheric, Oceanic & Planetary Physics
Clarendon Laboratory
Parks Road
Oxon
Oxford
OX1 3PU
01865 272083
irwin@atm.ox.ac.uk

Dr Antony Morris

Plymouth
University of Plymouth
School of Geography, Earth & Environmental studies
Drake Circus
Devon
Plymouth
PL4 8AA
01752584766
amorris@plymouth.ac.uk

Dr Robert Crittenden

Portsmouth
University of Portsmouth
Institute of Cosmology & Gravitation
Dennis Sciama Building
Burnaby Road
Hampshire
Portsmouth
PO1 3FX
02392 845625
robert.crittenden@port.ac.uk

Prof Alan Fitzsimmons

Queen's (Belfast)
Queen's University
Dept. of Pure & Applied Physics
APS Division
University Road
Belfast
BT7 1NN
02890 273124
a.fitzsimmons@qub.ac.uk

Prof Clive Tadhunter

Sheffield
University of Sheffield
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Yorkshire
Sheffield
S3 7RH
01142 224300 
c.tadhunter@sheffield.ac.uk

Dr Robert Fear

Southampton
University of Southampton
School of Physics & Astronomy
University Road
Hants
Southampton
SO17 1BJ
R.C.Fear@soton.ac.uk

Dr Vivienne Wild

St Andrews
University of St. Andrews
School of Physics and Astronomy
North Haugh
Fife
St. Andrews
KY16 9SS
01334 463135
vw8@st-andrews.ac.uk

Prof Alan Hood

St Andrews
University of St. Andrews
School of Mathematics and Statistics
North Haugh
Fife
St. Andrews
KY16 9SS
01334 463710 
alan@mcs.st-and.ac.uk

Dr Stephen Wilkins

Sussex
University of Sussex
Department of Physics and Astronomy
Pevensey 2 Building, Falmer
East Sussex
Brighton
BN1 9QH
s.wilkins@sussex.ac.uk

Prof Don Pollacco

Warwick
University of Warwick
Department of Physics
Gibbet Hill Road
West Midlands
Coventry
CV4 7AL
d.pollacco@warwick.ac.uk